Kirb your enthusiasm!


"Pink isn't a color. It's a lifestyle." - Chumbalaya
"...generalship should be informing list building." - Sir Biscuit
"I buy models with my excess money" - Valkyrie whilst a waitress leans over him

Tuesday, June 14, 2011

Grey knights FAQ and rulebook changes?

Oh, wow, don't tell me GW worked really fast, didn't screw anything up majorly, and there was no nerfing of the highest order? What? You say that's the case!? Unthinkable!

Well, I'm gonna assume they forgot to address obvious and utterly insane claims, such as Coteaz using his magic to unlock unlimited henchmen units. Oh, they got rid of that, too? Then this is must be one of those rare times GW's done everything right.

Let's take a brief look.

As you all know, back in april, codex: gimp hunters became codex: grey knights, and it was glorious, but the book had some minor issues.
No, unlimited henchmen weren't a minor issue, or even an issue at all, because only the most insane of men and women would even consider that option.

Rather, we had some problems. For instance, what's a demon? What counts as a plasma weapon? Why does my terminator inquisitor have to exchange his nemesis hammer for a terrible force sword?
Minor, but also obvious. You knew how they were gonna solve all of that, and the FAQ delivers without a hitch.

Some funny highlights.

"Q: If a walker is the target of Unyielding Anvil, from
the Grand Strategy special rule, can it claim objectives
even though it is a vehicle? (p22)
A: Yes."

"Q: A psyker can use one psychic power per Mastery
Level, per turn. Is this per player turn? (p21)
A: Yes, otherwise it would state per game turn."

"Q. Taking Inquisitor Coteaz in your force turns
Henchman Warbands into troops choices. Does this
mean that they take up a force organisation slot and
can no longer be taken as an elites choice? (p33)
A. Yes to both questions."

"Q: What counts as a Daemon? (p21)
A: Everything in the Chaos Daemons codex, Daemon
Princes, Possessed Chaos Space Marines, Obliterators,
summoned greater Daemons, summoned lesser
Daemons, any vehicle with the daemonic possesion
upgrade, Daemonhosts, Mandrakes, Kheradruakh the
Decapitator, the Avatar."

So much for all that, right? Fluff seems to have figured into a lot of this. For instance, tau pulse weapons count as plasma weaponry for the purpose of plasma syphons. What this means is, the four or five people left in the world who run fish of fury are gimped, nobody else cares.

"So any bad rulings?" Not really, no, but two weird ones. Nemesis dual wield is officially +1 attack total, and the initiative bonus from halberds doesn't matter if you get your initiative set at a value by some other piece of gear, special rule, or ability (lashwhips).
Neither of these really matters. You knew you'd get gimped by whips, plus falchions were bad value right away. Even with +2 attacks, it's doubtful they'd have been comparable to the spear or the hammer.

Also, the 40k main rules got patched a bit - namely in how psychic powers function.
It's now law that powers stack (multiple hammerhands/might of titans is a go!), but unless you've got special permission to do so, any given power inherent to psykers can only be used once per player turn. This means Mephiston can't try to get off wings three times, instead being limited to a single cast, whether it's blocked, passes, or fails. Likewise, a level 3 grey knight librarian can only attempt to cast summoning once per turn.

All in all, a good day for 40k.

Insert obligatory snark regarding this bringing GW one step closer to the 'fabled' awesome patching that privateer press seems so in love with.

40k FAQ update:

Grey knights FAQ update:

Follow us on Facebook!

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...